Student Loses Mind Over Library Hours

POTSDAM, NY-  SUNY Potsdam Crumb Library is known for their modest, yet frank, hours on Fridays and Saturdays.

“Oh, Crumb Library? Yeah they’re great about not over-working themselves on Friday nights or Saturday mornings until two in the afternoon. It’s a total relief for off campus students. It sends the message of, ‘if we don’t open, you don’t have to OPEN your BOOKS. You know what I’m saying? I think it has to do with the phrase, ‘when one door closes, another one opens’ which is really quite powerful,”

Says Rebecca Augustine, SUNY Potsdam Junior.

We followed the story as it developed.

As far as opening new doors, Augustine has a great attitude.

“The thing is, I have so much other work that can get done outside of Crumb Library. I can just avoid the hours all together.”

Junior, Rebecca Augustine, is taking different types of classes that require different approaches to finishing homework.

“I like to study Spanish on the Quizlet app my phone has on the walk to school, so that’s something I can incorporate within the library’s closed hours on Fridays and Saturdays.”

She also is involved in extra-curricular activities.

“I don’t need the library to work on essays for actual academic classes. I can fill this time working on activities that require little to no social pressure, just my own self-will and motivation.”

Additionally, Augustine has house chores to get done.

“Whenever I feel like all this alternative school work gets to be too much for me, I just take a moment to relax by getting elbow deep in washing dishes in my three person apartment. I can get a bit wrapped up in the soapy water.”

When asked about breaks, she started reciting the call number for the book she needed from the library:

“A 13.28:G 37/9/2013…”, says Augustine over and over again.

As we neared the end of our interview, we could hear Augustine up and at her usual pro-active dispositions on the way out the door:

“Why is Crumb Library always closed when I need it the most?” sings Augustine.

Leave a Reply

